What is the best way to advertise on the Internet? How to create advertising on the Internet: step-by-step instructions

What advertising is the most effective? How necessary is it for small and large businesses? These and other questions arise for everyone who starts doing business and is faced with the fact that in order to grow sales and promote their own product, they need to talk about their business.

Types of advertising

Today you can present information about your activities in completely different ways. Before you start promoting your business, you need to familiarize yourself with the types of existing advertising and choose the most suitable one for yourself. This is required in order to understand what is the most effective advertising for a construction company, for example.

Most of the information messages we see are commercial advertising aimed at attracting buyers, but there are also social and political ones.

  • external - presented in the form of billboards, posters on public transport, signs, signs, etc.;
  • through the media - television, radio, newspapers and magazines;
  • internet banner, social networks, contextual advertising, hyperlinks.

The role of advertising in business

Advertising is not just a luxury. This tool is necessary for every entrepreneur to disseminate information about himself to the target audience and promote his name in the ranking of enterprises. This will help present you as a reliable, solvent and responsible company.

When using competent marketing, you can easily answer which advertising is the most effective for your business, and in addition create a positive image, emphasize the advantages and form a loyal attitude towards the company.

You should not assume that small businesses do not need advertising, that only word of mouth works here. This is wrong. In any case, advertising helps to tell potential buyers about the company and promote the company’s product on the market.

It is important to choose a type that will not affect your budget too much, but at the same time will help you promote yourself and increase recognition.

Small business: how to advertise it

Small businesses, like big ones, require advertising, which you shouldn’t refuse, even if you don’t have extra funds. You should know: the decisive period in the development of any activity is the first 2 years, when initial acquaintance, adaptation and recognition occur. During this period, promotion should be as intense and eventful as possible.

Before deciding on the method of promoting an enterprise, it is worth studying as much information as possible on the question: what advertising is the most effective? Statistics are a convincing thing and, with the help of specific data, will help you make your choice.

It is important to focus on specific offers and refrain from using template words such as “cheap”, “fast”, “with guarantee”, “profitable”, etc. If such methods once had a good effect on potential buyers, now this does not attract, but even repels. People need specific numbers, an understanding of what they will pay for.

Methods to increase sales

There are several methods and types of advertising, each of which is aimed at increasing sales and making profits, but all these are not spontaneous actions, but a clearly thought-out strategy. Which advertising is the most effective for small businesses can be understood after some time, but it is a fact that any type is subject to a certain structure:

  • problem - if you are selling a product or service that can help in solving, then when advertising you can use interrogative sentences: “Tired of waiting for prices to fall?”, “Are you tired of paying too much?” etc.;
  • solution to the problem - after the question has been asked, you give the answer in advance that it is your company that is able to solve it and on favorable terms;
  • the offer is unique - many companies can provide assistance, but you must be different from them and offer something that will further attract the target audience;
  • limitations - people may be interested in your product and service, but they will think about purchasing later in order to think it over thoroughly. It’s worth introducing a time or availability limit so that people can make purchases faster;
  • call - after interest and desire to purchase appears, the buyer must immediately see where to call, how to order, how to pay.

How to attract consumers?

What advertising is the most effective? Statistics confirm that not every company can afford to talk about itself on television or radio, since it does not have a lot of money. Of course, before placing an advertisement on one or more sources, the owner studies data showing the most effective methods. But it’s worth remembering that each area of ​​business has its own type of promotion and its own indicators that are effective.

According to statistical data using the example of plastic windows in the city of Ufa, the cost of one attracted client varies greatly in different ways. Advertising was given on the radio, in newspapers and magazines, outdoor advertising, in the help desk and on the Internet. The cheapest promotion was on the Internet, where 42 rubles were spent, and the most expensive on the radio was more than 15 thousand rubles. This suggests that on the Internet you can customize advertising specifically for your client, control the budget and determine the cost of the contact.

Budget advertising in small businesses

  1. Telemarketing - calling potential clients can attract buyers, but they can also repel them. Advertising in this way must be correctly composed: the text must be short, but succinct and understandable. However, this method is ineffective and can repel people.
  2. Sending messages to email addresses and on social networks - this type takes time, but does not require financial investment. It is also ineffective, but it can attract a certain percentage of buyers.
  3. Leaflets. This type of advertising, of course, requires certain investments: it is necessary to print the material in a printing house, preferably in color, which will attract people more. This is a recognized marketing tool, but only if it is written correctly - good text, bright pictures, high-quality paper. It should be distributed on streets with high traffic.

How to evaluate effectiveness?

What is the most effective advertising method, and how to evaluate it? After this tool is launched, the owner will want to know how advertising affected sales, whether it is worth using it in the future or whether it is better to change something.

There are two measures of advertising effectiveness: communication (i.e., how well and accurately the message conveys information to the target audience) and financial. It is worth knowing that this indicator partly depends on the owner, who determines the budget, strategy, parameters, and partly does not depend, because there are uncontrollable factors: characteristics of the audience, advertising time, legal requirements.

But the assessment of efficiency depends on the specific market situation: how many similar firms are there, what methods were chosen and why? For small businesses, it is recommended to organize promotions using direct click methods, i.e. the result should be comparable: they launched an advertisement for ten rubles - they received thirty, which means it works. They launched it for five rubles - they received three, the method does not work and the company goes into the red.

Integrated approach

It is impossible to give the same assessment of the effectiveness of advertising for each area of ​​​​business and use the statistics of the results of one company to analyze another. This method will only waste your budget and will be of no use.


A lot of well-known and not-so-specialists give thousands of tips on increasing efficiency, and each of the tips in one case or another can really help. But if we look at them in general, Several interesting rules are revealed.

Duration of visual contact between the consumer and the advertising message is of great importance.

It's not hard to understand that each of these people has a different visual contact with the advertisement. In the first case, it is worth making a banner that is memorable and really catches your eye. In the second case, on the contrary, the effectiveness of the advertising will depend not on the colors, but on the detailed delivery of information. Although paint is an important point, this is the next rule.

Product design

And quite a lot has been said about this point by professionals. Let's repeat basic commandments: do not irritate, do not impose, but attract. How to do this?

It’s also worth adding here that when using a picture, it’s better to use a photograph. Based on the results of some surveys, photography is more credible. And this, of course, must be used. Photographs in which there is a person are especially good. However, this option is not suitable for every product. But you need to know it.

Worth noting that the beauty of the color scheme and font is not enough. If all the text is presented in small letters, no one will see it. Therefore, do not forget about size and poor vision. And, alas, it is becoming more and more common.

As a final addition to the design rule, it is worth mentioning that advertising for one product should be designed similarly, regardless of where it will be located. Recognition will appear, the price of which can be given using a simple example.


The same motorist is going about his business, sees an advertisement, but does not have time to look at it. A traffic jam appears on the next avenue, he takes out a magazine and, by its general appearance, sees an offer that previously interested him. Naturally, he will read it.

Advertising slogan

If you are thinking about what quality advertising is for, then you should evaluate the slogan. It can also be called a slogan, motto, proposal, appeal. The meaning does not change and everyone understood: what is meant is the text itself.

It may be small, just one sentence, but it is the key to success.. Remember, probably at least once an advertising line was spinning around in your head like an annoying fly. But when you entered the store and saw this product, it already seemed familiar, familiar, and there was trust in it.

Simplicity and honesty

A very unexpected point, isn’t it? But he must be here. If only because he is able not only to help, but also to warn.

Good afternoon, dear readers of the HeatherBeaver business magazine! The founders of the site, Vitaly Tsyganok and Alexander Berezhnov, are with you.

We will also talk about the history of online advertising, the rules for placing advertising content on websites, ways to increase the effectiveness of advertising with practical recommendations and clear examples from life.

1. Advertising on the Internet - a new trend of the 21st century

Any commercial project needs promotion and expansion of the field of activity. Today, almost all companies and organizations have their own representation on the Internet in the form of a resource, blog, or page on social networks.

However, creating a website and even filling it with relevant content does not guarantee an automatic increase in sales and growth in the popularity of a commercial project. We have already talked about this in one of the previous articles.

It is necessary not only to be present on the Internet, but also to place competent advertising on the Internet, as well as spend money or time on promotion, promotion and increasing the conversion of the site.

Advertising on the Internet (English term " Internet Advertising» ) is a relatively new phenomenon, as is the World Wide Web itself. Just 15-20 years ago, of all types of advertising on the Internet, users and advertisers were familiar with only one option - spam mailing.

Today there are dozens of types of advertising on the World Wide Web. There is free advertising on the Internet, paid (professional) advertising on websites and social networks. There are online advertising agencies that use the latest technological advances in their activities.

This market began to take shape in the mid-90s of the last century, but until the early 2000s, the World Wide Web was not considered by advertisers as a priority advertising platform, although the most advanced companies were already practicing the promotion of goods and services on the Internet as an auxiliary channel for the implementation of their marketing campaigns.

The rapid development of the World Wide Web has led to changes in economic policy. Since the mid-2000s, the Internet has become main channel of influence on consumers .

This fact is due to the following circumstances:

  • the steady growth of Internet users and the increase in the time they spend online;
  • development of wireless communications technologies;
  • the emergence of the mobile Internet;
  • the development of the Internet economy and the spread of trade through the World Wide Web;
  • the emergence and development of technical platforms for managing online advertising.

In addition, new analytical systems have emerged that make it possible to quickly and accurately measure the effectiveness of advertising on the Internet.

The basic principles of online advertising are similar to those in traditional media. The fundamental difference is that in the online space, active participation from consumers is almost always required - advertising begins to work when the user takes some action.

Typically, this action is a “click,” following a link, registering on a specific site, or other types of activity.

The most promising area of ​​online marketing is targeted advertising: attracting a target audience with the help of highly targeted advertisements, banners, and videos.

There are a large number of forms of transmitting commercial messages - advertising in the browser, pop-up windows, aggressive teaser advertising, advertising on Google, YAN - Yandex advertising network - contextual advertising hidden inside information arrays, banner advertising.

04Mar

Stages of an online advertising campaign

  • Informs the consumer about your product, its characteristics and benefits;
  • Trains the consumer to use your product;
  • Entertains;
  • Sells.

Today, entrepreneurs have a wide choice of channels for advertising distribution: television, radio, printed resources, billboards. However, the Internet is rightfully considered the most promising channel for distributing communication messages.

Let's take a look stages of development of online advertising in Russia:

  1. First there was spam. The beginning of the 90s of the last century. We all remember those annoying sales letters in our email inboxes. Senders did not have the opportunity to personalize letters, so they sent them to everyone. As a result, advertisers in most cases received only an angry reaction from users.
  2. 2000s - the emergence and use of social networks to promote products. The development of browsers and search engines has made it possible to conduct personalized advertising campaigns on the Internet.
  3. The 2010s saw the emergence of notifications and pop-ups.

Before moving on to studying the types of online advertising, we will consider the main stages of conducting an advertising campaign on the Internet:

  1. Formulating the goals of an online advertising campaign;
  2. Determining the target audience. Here you need to describe demographic and psychographic factors, interests and preferences.
  3. Development of a promotion strategy and program. Here you need to take into account your target audience and advertising campaign budget;
  4. Implementation;
  5. Control based on performance indicators.

Advantages of online advertising over other methods

Not all companies have huge marketing budgets. More recently, this was the main reason for the failures of small new organizations; their efforts were not noticeable against the background of grandiose advertising campaigns of the old-timers in the market.

With the advent of online advertising, everything has changed. Advertising on the Internet is not as expensive as advertising on television, radio, and print media. Even housewife Masha, who makes homemade soap and then sells it on her social network page, can afford it.

The Internet allows you to customize your message in such a way that it will be displayed only to those users who are interested in it, that is, only to your potential audience. At the same time, you can customize product advertising for each client individually, according to his needs and interests.

Types and cost of advertising on the Internet

In fact, today there are a huge number of types of advertising on the Internet. For the convenience of providing information, we will combine them into groups.

Contextual advertising

This is the most famous method of promotion on the World Wide Web.

For example, you sell homemade soap, so contextual advertising of your products will be placed on women's forums and sites with women's advice.

Pros:

  • Personalization;
  • Focus on the target audience;
  • Saving time and money;
  • Visible effectiveness.

Cons:

  • Contextual advertising works exactly as long as you paid for;
  • Unstable price;
  • The need to regularly optimize messages to ensure “clickability”;
  • Mistrust on the part of the target audience;

Let's immediately figure out what contextual advertising tools exist and how to place it using each of them.

Yandex Direct– one of the most famous and effective contextual advertising tools. Setting it up is quite simple; we will describe the sequence of actions when placing contextual advertising in Yandex Direct.

  • Register in the Yandex system. During registration, select the professional service interface. Click on the “Advertise” link.
  • Setting up advertising campaign parameters. Here you need to select the name of the company, indicate your first name, last name and patronymic, and date of birth. It's not that important. You need to pay attention to five points: strategy, time targeting, region, setting up on thematic sites and additional phrases.

Time targeting displays the time of day at which your message will be displayed in the Yandex search engine and the days of the week. When choosing time targeting, we recommend basing your choice on product type and budget.

The region depends on where you sell your product. For example, if you offer homemade soap only in Moscow and do not offer delivery services to the regions, then you should indicate Moscow in this setting field.

Settings on thematic sites are needed to limit the resources in which your message will be displayed. Many experts recommend disabling search results on thematic sites so that the message is displayed exclusively in the search engine itself upon the corresponding user request.

Additional phrases are those phrases by which your message will be displayed, in addition to the main keywords. As a rule, these are synonyms and words close in meaning. Experts also recommend disabling this option to make the results more relevant.

  • You need to select the title and text of the ad, as well as select keywords. This stage is the most important.

To select a title and text, you must fill out the “link to site” field. In this field you must copy the link, in our case - the site where we sell our homemade soap. After this action, the title and text will be typed automatically.

Keywords are selected using the Yandex keyword selection service. You will be taken to it by clicking on the “Select words” link next to the new keywords field.

In the service settings, we indicate the region and sequentially type phrases that relate to our task - to sell soap. For example, buy homemade soap, homemade soap as a gift, and so on.

After you have typed a phrase and clicked on the “Select” button, a page will open in front of you with the frequency of the typed query in a certain period of time in a certain region, as well as queries that are similar in meaning and their frequency. Do not select phrases and words with a search frequency higher than 1000; we will suit queries with a frequency of 500 to 1000 per month.

If you want an entire phrase or word to identify your ad only in the form in which you entered it, then enclose that phrase or word in quotation marks. For example, if you do not put the phrase “homemade soap” in quotation marks, then your ad for selling it will also appear with the request “how to make homemade soap,” which is not what we want.

  • In the next step you will see your keywords and their prices. We can filter out overly expensive requests using a setting at the top of the page.
  • Submitting an ad for moderation and paying for clicks. If your campaign has not passed moderation, we advise you to contact the Yandex Direct support service by calling 8 800 333-9639, give the advertising campaign number and find out the reason. Ads are often rejected by mistake.

But here is the sequence of actions:

  • The first step is to register with Google.
  • The second step is choosing the type of contextual advertising, that is, those services in which your ad will be displayed: Google search query page, websites. In addition, at the first stage we indicate the name of the advertising campaign; it will not be displayed to users.

Here we select the platforms on which the ad will be displayed, region and strategy. Everything is the same as in Yandex Direct.

But there are also differences. The first is the ability to set a maximum click rate and budget. The second difference is the ability to add links to additional resources. Finally, the third difference is the ability to specify the start and end dates of your advertising campaign.

  • The third step is selecting keywords. The Google keyword selection service is similar to the Yandex service. The rules are the same.
  • The fourth step is sending the ad for moderation, payment and placement.

Banner advertising

Pros:

  • Memorability;
  • "Visibility";
  • Wide audience coverage;
  • Increasing company/brand awareness;

Cons:

  • The user gets bored quickly (needs to be changed frequently);
  • May be intrusive and negatively perceived by the user.

Let's now figure out how to place banner advertising. To do this, you can choose one of two ways: independently search for resources and placement or placement using banner services.

Here is a comparison table of these two methods.

Characteristic

Self-accommodation

Using banner placement services (take the Rotaban service as an example)

Quality of hosting sites

High

Low (medium)

Payback

High

Price

Depends on the hosting site

Depends on the hosting site

Short

Time costs

High
  • Search for sites and resources for posting. In order to find a suitable resource for placing a banner, you need to make a request for the topic in any search engine. In our case, homemade soap. We type “blog about natural cosmetics” into the search engine and follow the first five links.

After you get to the site, you need to pay attention to five elements: site design, presence and amount of advertising, site content, site traffic, audience reach. If all the indicators are high enough, then you can look for the “Advertising” section and negotiate placement with the site owner.

  • Creating a banner. It should be memorable and also relevant to your product. We recommend placing information about the benefits of the product on the banner. For example, homemade soap will relieve you of dry skin on your hands and envelop you in the aroma of ripe peaches. It is also necessary to place your logo and product image. The user will receive the rest of the information after clicking on the link.

When creating a banner, you need to pay attention to the standards. The size of the image is specified by the owner of the site on which the ad will be posted. Discuss this issue in advance. But the format can be jpeg for static images and gif or flash for animation.

  • We pay and place.

Teasers and viral videos

The essence of these tools is to create a video, image or text message that would immediately interest the user and become a kind of “virus”, that is, it would spread on the network independently with the help of the users themselves. It is better to place such advertising on social networks and forums.

Pros:

  • No need to spend money on distribution;
  • Wide audience coverage;
  • Ease of execution;
  • Personalization.

Cons:

  • High risk of failure of the entire advertising campaign;
  • High competition;
  • User misinterpretation of message.

Targeted advertising on social networks

Targeted advertising on social networks is the most accessible advertising tool on the Internet. Targeting is a small ad on a social network that, when clicked, will redirect the user to your website or page.

Pros:

  • High degree of reaching the target audience (targeting);
  • Low cost;
  • Easy to set up.

Cons:

  • Social networks where targeted advertising is placed are not aimed at sales;
  • Posting is only possible on a social network.

The structure of a targeting ad must contain the following elements:

  • Link to your resource;
  • Ad title;
  • Basic information that you want to convey to the consumer (one or two sentences);
  • Image (if your brand is known, then you can place a logo, in other cases it is preferable to use an image of the product);
  • Target audience parameters: demographics, interests.

Compliance with this structure will allow you to set up effective targeted advertising on any social network.

Advertising on social networks

Placing such an ad is very simple. It is enough to agree with the owner of the page or group about placement for a certain price.

Pros:

  • Personalization;
  • Low cost;
  • Ease of placement;
  • Possibility of establishing feedback with consumers.

Cons:

  • The need for constant updating;
  • Social networks are not aimed at sales, so advertising on social networks is more of an informational nature.

Bulletin boards as a platform for advertising

Bulletin boards as an advertising platform are often used by small businesses. Such advertising is a simple advertisement for sale with a link to the site. In addition, bulletin boards are a place where you can place advertisements on the Internet absolutely free of charge.

Pros:

  • Low cost (can be free);
  • Personalization;
  • Sales focus.

Cons:

  • Small coverage;
  • User distrust.

Popup windows

Popup windows These are windows that pop up on top of a resource and make it difficult for the user to view the site.

Creating Popup windows requires programming knowledge, so we advise you to seek help from IT specialists.

If you don’t have this option, you can use one of the following services for creating Popup windows:

  • Hello Bar– a fairly simple service. When registering, you will be given a special code that must be inserted into your website template. Then you will be asked to configure the service's tasks (collecting user contact information, calling, redirecting to another page, ad), pop-up type, ad text and image. This will complete the creation of the Popup window. The service is paid.
  • GetSiteControl. This service completely repeats the process of setting up a Popup window in the Hello Bar service, so we won’t dwell on it. The service is also paid.
  • Mailmunch has a free version with limited functionality. In addition, this service, in addition to setting the window type, offers you to select a template, design and add additional fields. The sequence of actions when creating a window is similar to previous services.
  • Sumome also has a free version. Setting up the service is identical to the previous ones.

Pros:

  • High brand recall;
  • Wide coverage.

Cons:

  • Relatively high cost;
  • Ability to block them in the browser settings;
  • High complexity of placement;
  • Excessive intrusiveness;
  • Mixed user reactions.

Push notifications

But unlike Popup windows, Push notifications also require careful elaboration of the content of the advertising message. First of all, it should interest the user and force him to follow the link.

Pros:

  • Personalization;
  • Wide coverage;

Cons:

  • User mistrust;
  • High complexity of placement;
  • Relatively high cost.

Advertising in mobile applications

Advertising in mobile applications based on Android and iOS also consists of pop-up windows. In this case, the user cannot turn off the advertisement until he views it. Only after this, the application itself will be available to the user.

Such a notice can be placed by mutual agreement with the application owner. The technical side of ad development is usually taken care of by the application developer.

Pros:

  • 100% guarantee that the user will see your ad;
  • Brand memorability;
  • Wide coverage.

Cons:

  • Ambiguous user reaction;
  • Not aimed at sales;
  • High complexity of placement;
  • Relatively high cost of accommodation.

Promotional videos on YouTube

At the same time, you should strive to ensure that the user “shares” what he sees with friends. This will allow us to get the so-called viral effect, in which potential consumers themselves distribute your advertising.

There are several rules that must be followed when creating a viral video:

  • You need to become “invisible”. According to the author, viral advertising should not impose a product; its task is only to hint to the consumer about the product.
  • Patience, just patience. Viral advertising often takes a long time to become famous and make a profit.
  • “Infect” the consumer! The consumer must want to talk about the advertisement and the product.
  • The virus is the “master” of the situation. The thoughts and actions of the consumer must be under the control of the virus.
  • Exploiting the power of weak ties. In the spread of viral advertising on the Internet, users with a large number of casual social connections are of greatest importance than people who regularly communicate with a certain circle of close people.
  • to reach the turning point. In order for viral advertising to reach a certain scale, it is necessary to invest time, labor and money into it.

An excellent example of a viral video is an advertisement for the Delivery Club delivery service. The company released a series of short videos about stay-at-home Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles using an online food delivery service to solve their problem of fear of social contact while buying pizza. Each video has its own storyline, the center of which is the Delivery Club. One video cost the company an average of 5,000 rubles, and sales doubled.

Another example of a viral video is an advertisement for Cadbury chocolate. The 1.5-minute video features a huge gorilla playing drums and a chocolate bar appears at the end of the ad. This virus cost the company almost a million rubles. However, it did not bring economic results.

Let's look at why a video costing 5,000 rubles turned out to be more effective than a video costing 1 million rubles.

  • Your product should be central to the story;
  • The characters in the video should be associated with your product/company/brand (we all remember the cartoon about the Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles, who really loved pizza);
  • The video should not offend the feelings of the audience.

Email newsletters

This became possible largely thanks to the development of browsers and the Internet in general. You can obtain information about the interests and preferences of users based on their latest queries in search engines. And this, in turn, allows you to make personalized newsletters.

In this case, the letter must meet several criteria:

  • Bright, interesting title;
  • Personalized offer (the product must solve the problem of a specific consumer). It is necessary to write an individual letter for each potential client!
  • The letter must include a link to your website;
  • At the bottom of the letter, be sure to attach a button that allows you to unsubscribe from your mailing list.

Pros:

  • Personalized approach;
  • Sales focus;
  • Ease of implementation;
  • 100% guarantee that the user will see your ad.

Cons:

  • High labor costs;
  • Difficulty obtaining contact information of potential clients;
  • Excessive intrusiveness.

Expert articles in online magazines

The first thing you will need to do is negotiate with the journal editor to publish the article (for a certain cost or even for free).

You will have to write the article yourself. In this case, the article must correspond to the theme of the magazine and the style of writing.

In an expert article, it is necessary to give the most complete description of your product, its advantages, and indicate its consumer value. It is advisable to confirm your words with scientific or expert research data.

Pros:

  • High degree of trust of potential consumers;
  • Low cost (usually);
  • Improves the company's image;
  • Informs the consumer;
  • Ease of implementation.

Cons:

  • Small coverage (depending on the magazine);
  • Not intended for sales.

CPA and Affiliate Marketing

CPA or Cost per Action translated from English means “Pay for Action”. Indeed, CPA is a promotion tool that involves paying for Internet advertising only after your potential client completes a targeted action. The target action can be following a link, registering on the site, or purchasing your product; you set the goal for advertisers yourself.

If the established action was not performed, payment for promotion services is not made. In the case of CPA, both parties, the customer and the performer, are interested in the maximum result of the advertising campaign, since their profit is directly dependent on its success. They become partners, which is why CPA marketing is also called affiliate marketing.

Benefits of CPA marketing

  • You pay only for real clients;
  • Your expenses are fixed (you set them yourself);
  • The interest of advertising platforms in attracting customers;
  • Saving time and labor resources;
  • Wide audience coverage.

Disadvantages of CPA marketing

  • The need to conclude an agreement;
  • High entry barriers for small organizations: sites do not want to take on “small” orders;
  • High competition for advertising space;
  • There is a possibility of fraud on the part of advertising platforms.

Thus, CPA allows you to pay only for real clients (leads) brought to you by the advertiser. To apply CPA marketing in practice, CPA networks or affiliate programs are used. They are services where advertisers are selected suitable platforms for advertising their products.

CPA networks work as follows: the advertiser enters into an agreement with the network, sets up the parameters of the advertising campaign (price, downloads the advertising materials themselves, sets the target action), replenishes the budget with a certain amount, and then receives its clients.

Native advertising

Native advertising is often used by PR specialists in their activities. This type of advertising represents content of the platform site that is interesting to readers. This is what makes native advertising attractive to PR professionals; Internet resources often publish such advertising for free, and even thank the advertiser for the interesting content.

  • Low cost (possibility of free placement);
  • The ability to assign responsibilities for writing the article itself to third-party specialists;
  • Lively interest in content.
  • Low degree of personalization;
  • Aimed at informing, not selling;
  • The risk of “losing” the product due to interesting content.
  • Its readers should be your target audience;
  • Its content should correspond to the topic of your advertising article.

SEO + your information website

To do this, select keywords (those phrases and words that users use as queries in search engines) on your topic. It is better to do this in two services at once: Yandex Wordstat and Google Adwords, in order to raise the site in the search results of Google and Yandex. Then write an article incorporating these words and phrases. The article should be interesting and informative. At the same time, its theme should promote your product.

Advantages:

  • Promoting your own website;
  • Positive perception from readers;
  • Lively interest in content;
  • Low cost of the campaign (can be carried out free of charge);
  • Attracting new clients from search engines.

Flaws:

  • Low degree of personalization;
  • The risk of creating too “advertising” content (rejection by sites and negative reaction from consumers);
  • The risk of “losing” the product due to interesting content;
  • The site's sales function may be lost.

Comparison of all types of advertising on the Internet

Average cost of placement Orientation

Implementation complexity

200 rubles/day Sales
Depends on the resource on which it is posted, the size of the banner and the location of the banner on the page.

Can be implemented independently

Teasers

300 rubles/day. Depends on the resource, calculated based on the cost per click Sales/

Can be implemented independently

200 rubles/day. Depends on the resource, calculated based on the cost of a click (transition)

Can be implemented independently

20 rubles/day. Depends on resource Increasing brand awareness, informing consumers

Can be implemented independently

Notice boards

Free advertising possible Sales

Can be implemented independently

Popup windows

Depends on many factors Sales/Brand Awareness

Help from specialists (programmers) is needed. It is possible to use special services (Hello Bar, GetSiteControl, Mailmunch, Sumome, AddThis, Witget, Picreel, Optimonk)

Push notifications

Depends on many factors Sales/Brand Awareness

Need help from specialists (programmers)

Depends on many factors Increasing brand awareness

By agreement with the application owner

Free placement possible Increasing brand awareness

Depends on the video idea

Free if you have contact details Sales, consumer information

Can be implemented independently

Expert articles

100 rubles/day

Can be implemented independently

CPA and Affiliate Marketing

Sales percentage Sales

Use of services / can be implemented independently

Depends on many factors Informing consumers/improving the image of the organization Can be implemented independently
SEO + your information website Depends on many factors Informing the consumer / improving the image of the organization / sales

You can do it yourself, but it’s better to turn to specialists

Calculation of the effectiveness of an advertising campaign on the Internet

After we have chosen the most suitable online promotion tools for us, we need to begin assessing the effectiveness of each of them. There are three universal ways to evaluate the effectiveness of an online advertising campaign: CPM, CTR and CPC. Let's look at each of them.

Click-through rate (CTR) – click-through rate. It displays the number of users who clicked on the link after seeing your ad.

CTR is defined as the ratio of the number of clicks on your ad to the total number of ad impressions multiplied by 100%.

Example. Your ad was shown 2.5 thousand times, and 200 people clicked on it. Thus, CTR = 200/2500*100% = 8%.

This means that your ad brought 8% of users who saw this ad to your site. Typically, the CTR rate ranges from 1%-2%.

To increase this indicator, it is necessary to carry out the following work with the ad:

  • Personalize as much as possible;
  • Make it brighter and more contrasting;
  • Resize (enlarge);
  • Change the location of the ad (place it in the central area).

Cost per click (CPC) – cost per click. This metric shows the cost of one click on your ad.

Using CPC, you can evaluate your ad in terms of the return on investment of one potential client who comes to your site.

Example. Your banner costs 6,000 rubles per month. During this month, 500 potential clients switched to your website through it. CPC = 6000/500 = 12 rubles. Thus, one transition to the site from a banner cost you 12 rubles.

To increase CPC you need to:

  • Personalize your ad as much as possible;
  • Set up a geographic filter for impressions;
  • Set up a time filter for impressions (the time of day at which your ad will be shown);

Cost per mille (CPM) – displays a fixed cost for 1000 impressions excluding clicks.

It is calculated as the product of a thousand impressions, CTR and cost per click.

Example. Your ad was shown 2,500 times and 200 people clicked on it. Its cost is 400 rubles per day.

CTR = 200/2500*100% = 8%;

CPC = 400/200 = 2 rubles per day;

Thus, CPM = 1000*8%*2 = 160 rubles costs 1000 impressions of your ad.

How to best conduct an advertising campaign on the Internet

Now is the time to talk about how best to conduct an online advertising campaign: on your own or with the help of online advertising specialists from third-party organizations.

This is a rather complicated question. The answer depends on factors such as:

  • Availability of free time;
  • Your education;
  • Selected types of advertising on the Internet;
  • Your product;
  • Target audience.

But still, we compared these two methods of conducting an advertising campaign on the Internet, the analysis data is presented in the table.

Indicator

On one's own Freelancers
Low (free placement possible) From 1,000 rubles for one type of advertising on the Internet

From 3,000 rubles

Timecost

High Low

Labor costs

High Average
High High

Width of choice of online promotion tools

Not all tools are available All tools available

All tools available

Frequently asked questions about online promotion

  1. What type of advertising on the Internet is considered the most effective?

There is no such thing as the most effective promotional tool. It all depends on the purpose of the advertising campaign, detail, and quality of work. However, from the point of view of economic efficiency, at the moment, contextual advertising can be distinguished.

  1. Is it possible to conduct an advertising campaign on the Internet without spending money?

Yes, you can. But in this case you will need to spend a lot of time and your own labor. At the same time, you will have access to a limited set of tools: advertising on message boards, promotional videos on YouTube and E-mail newsletters.

  1. What is the best way to combine online promotion tools? Can I use only one tool?

You cannot create a universal media plan. The combination of certain tools depends on your goals, capabilities, and product. But at the same time, it can be unequivocally stated that using only one online promotion tool will not lead to significant results.

You have a product or the ability to provide paid services, but you don’t have enough clients. It doesn’t matter where your business is located - in real life or you are going to trade online. You have calculated the costs of traditional advertising and decided to turn to the most technologically advanced and least expensive way to attract customers - via the Internet. But how to use advertising resources in the virtual space? How to attract customers to your website or online store? How to spend the minimum and get the maximum return in the form of customers who want to view your offers and even take advantage of them. There is no clear answer to the question of how to advertise on the Internet. There are many ways to promote a product online. Let's look at the main ones, with their advantages and disadvantages.

How to make advertising on the Internet for free - review

“Free” - this word attracts beginners like a magnet: not to pay a penny, but to benefit. However, there are opportunities on the Internet. It is worth arming yourself with patience and curiosity. Here are the most common methods:

  • Free message boards, like Avito.
  • Social media.
  • City and thematic forums.
  • Catalogs of online stores.

They practice sending out advertising offers by email or SMS, participating in online auctions, creating blogs on various free platforms, displaying photos of the company’s team in photo galleries, and other tricks. Remember: you will learn over time how to make advertising on the Internet for free. But the process itself will require a lot of time and effort.

You place advertisements about products on a free bulletin board. The main thing is to make simple and accessible descriptions, write in the first person. Look at other people's ads. Which one resonated with you the most compared to others advertising the same products? Look for a feature to catch the client's attention.

In Contact or Odnoklassniki (you can use both social networks), create a group for the store. Post photos of products, descriptions and start actively establishing relationships with potential buyers. You join other people’s groups and offer to join your own. This requires communication skills.

On thematic forums, the main task is to find the target audience and, on occasion, unobtrusively provide a link to a “very high-quality and inexpensive product.” Such communication is good training for those who really want to learn how to do advertising on the Internet for free themselves.

You register in catalogs for free and post information about your company. Choose among several of the most famous: Yandex.Catalog, Tor100, mail.ru, Rambler and others. Clients don't often look at directories, but they will contain a link to your site. This means something to search engines.

Advertising on the Internet for free is not the best choice

The possibilities for free advertising on the Internet are limited. You will attract a certain number of customers, but you shouldn’t count on massive visits to the site or calls from customers. It is not for nothing that paid advertising industries are actively developing on the Internet, i.e. professional. And in this case, with a successful choice of a team of specialists, the profit from visiting the site will be proportional to the investment in its content and promotion.

One of the usual options for advertising for money is placing banners on frequently visited pages. Experts say: the chance that someone will click on the banner is 0.5%. However, the potential buyer will subconsciously remember the information from the banner and will respond to your trademark with greater respect in the future. Today, contextual advertising is becoming more and more effective. And anyone who wants to know how to advertise an online store cannot do without it.

How to advertise an online store - for those who have serious goals

Contextual advertising attracts customers who are most interested in purchasing your group's products. It appears on the results pages of user queries in search engines. The most well-known contextual advertising services are Yandex Direct or Google Adwords.

Someone types “buy eau de toilette” into the search, and in the first page of results a link appears to your website that sells perfumes. This is contextual advertising for a given keyword or combination of words, which answers the question of how to make advertising for an online store most effective.

In systems that provide contextual advertising, each click on a link is paid. The cost of a click is up to $0.3, but the effectiveness of contextual advertising, as statistics say, is up to 20% of visits to the site when the ad is correctly composed. Sometimes up to 30%.

How to make online advertising permanent

Contextual advertising and banner placement require costs for the period of each promotion. But there is also a technique that will bring your online store to leading positions in search queries using one-time financial investments. This is site optimization - a whole set of measures that will make your page on the Internet also useful and interesting for users.

Optimization (SEO - website promotion) - strategy. And it is necessary to involve professionals in its implementation. Promotion requires more than just money and time. The online store should be rich in high-quality content, photographs, and have easy navigation. As a result, after thorough work, the site will invariably rank in the top places when searching in Google or Yandex for key queries. And this means increased attention from clients and potential buyers.

Beginners should use tips on how to advertise on the Internet. Choosing priorities is a task that is determined by your goals, the availability of money, and the scale with which you are going to conduct business. But those who have ate the dog at online advertising advise: use different methods, but always think through the marketing strategy of the advertising company. Everything here is like in real life. Then both money and effort will not be wasted.

Video: How to create effective free advertisements on the Internet?

Video: How to advertise in Yandex Direct?

Video: How to advertise in VKontakte?



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